When the NFL’s Texans win, what happens next?

Texas lawmakers are considering whether to override a federal veto of a proposed measure that would prevent the state from enacting its own minimum wage.

The Senate and House passed the measure last month but are awaiting the Senate to act on a companion measure, SB 865, which passed the House on a vote of 69-13.

The legislation would prohibit local governments from setting their own minimum wages, and require the federal government to establish a minimum wage of $10.10 an hour for federal contractors.

It also would require local governments to enact minimum wage increases in exchange for federal contracts.

A similar bill passed the Texas House in 2013 but died in the state Senate before being approved.

A companion measure that passed the Senate last year passed the state House but failed to make it out of committee.

SB 855 has drawn a range of opinions from business groups and lawmakers who have criticized the legislation, which critics say is aimed at pushing out lower-skilled workers and forcing some businesses to close.

Business groups, however, argue the minimum wage bill would help the state’s economy by providing additional workers with the means to purchase goods and services.

The minimum wage legislation is opposed by many small business owners and economists who say it is unnecessary to raise the wage for those already at the bottom of the economic ladder.

In a letter to Gov.

Greg Abbott, Texas Manufacturers and Commerce, which represents the state auto industry, the National Restaurant Association and Texas Pork Association, which represent the state meat industry, called the minimum-wage legislation a “bad, bad idea.”

The Texas Restaurant Association, in a statement, called it “a bad bill that hurts our state and hurts Texas families.”

The National Federation of Independent Business, which is also against the minimum, called SB 845 “a dangerous piece of legislation.”

A bill sponsored by Texas state Sen. Lois Kolkhorst, D-Austin, was signed into law by Gov.

Abbott in October.

The bill requires Texas to establish an eight-hour day for businesses and would increase the state minimum wage to $11.25 by 2020, or $8.10 by 2024.

The Texas Tribune thanks its sponsors.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

This story was originally published on ESPN.com.